Taipei, September 30: David Lipsky of the United States will headline the US$500,000 Yeangder Tournament Players Championship (TPC) next week.

Currently ranked second on the Asian Tour Order of Merit, Lipsky will feature in the popular event alongside Chinese Taipei star and two-time Asian Tour winner Chan Shih-chang and Gaganjeet Bhullar of India, who won the event in 2012.

Joining them at the Linkou International Golf and Country Club are Thaworn Wiratchant of Thailand, a two-time Asian Tour number one, Poom Saksansin, Richard T. Lee of Canada, who won a fortnight ago, and Shiv Kapur of India.

Lu Wei-chih, the only player from Chinese Taipei to win the tournament in 2011, Lin Wen-tang, Chan Yih-shin, Lin Wen-ko and Lee Chieh-po will spearhead the local charge when the event gets underway on October 5 to 8.

Lipsky, a two-time Asian Tour winner, currently trails the Merit leader Scott Hend of Australia by slightly more than US$40,000 but the American can retake the top spot with a second place result in Taipei.

“I think I will see myself coming out more often to play on the Asian Tour and try to win the Order of Merit again. I started my career on the Asian Tour and won the Order of Merit in 2014. There are a lot of good guys out here and to be part of this class means a lot to me, especially coming from Asian descent,” said Lipsky.

Lin a six-time Asian Tour winner hopes to add the prestigious Yeangder TPC title in his trophy cabinet.

A victory will also help Lin repay the faith of Yeangder Group Chairman, Emmet Hsu, who has been instrumental in the development of golf in Chinese Taipei.

“Mr. Emmet is one of the key people behind my success. He has supported and helped many local players including myself develop their full potential. A win at his own sponsored tournament will be a nice reward for him,” said Lin.

Prom Meesawat of Thailand, winner of the Yeangder TPC in 2014, Miguel Tabuena of the Philippines, Rashid Khan of India and Yikeun Chang of Korea will also feature in the Yeangder TPC.